All Collections
Groups
Configuration Groups
Configure Content Install & Update Criteria
Configure Content Install & Update Criteria

Steps to configure content install and update criteria on configuration groups.

Josh Franzen avatar
Written by Josh Franzen
Updated over a week ago

Who can use this feature?

👤 Organizations Owners, Admins, and Members.
🚩 Available on the Essential and Enterprise Plans.

Overview

Control when content downloads and installs on devices to avoid interrupting users mid-session with unexpected updates.

This applies to:

  • Application installs

  • Application updates (both of your own applications and of ArborXR Home and Client applications)

  • Video installs

  • File installs

By configuring download and install times, you can optimize the user experience and minimize disruption from background downloads and installations.


Configure Content Install & Update Criteria

  1. Navigate to the desired configuration group.

  2. Click on the Settings tab.

  3. Select Installs & Updates in the accordion menu.
    ​

  4. Under Content, select one of the following options:

    1. Automatically: Content will download and install on the device(s) as soon as the deployment is triggered via the web portal and the next time they come online.

    2. Plugged In: Content will download and install on the device(s) anytime they are plugged into a power source and if they are online.

    3. Scheduled: Content will download and install on the device(s) only during the specified time window and if they are online. The schedule can be configured in the Schedule section beneath Content.
      ​


      ⚠️ NOTE: All times are based on the time zone locally set on the device.


    4. Plugged in + Scheduled: Content will download and install on the device(s) when they are plugged into a power source during the specified time window and if they are online. The schedule can be configured in the Schedule section beneath Content.
      ​


      ⚠️ NOTE: All times are based on the time zone locally set on the device.


  5. Click Apply Changes to save.

⚠️ Regardless of which option is chosen, devices will need to be awake and connected to WiFi in order for new content to download and install. When devices go into deep sleep, Android turns off WiFi to preserve battery life. When in deep sleep, new content will not download and install to devices since they are no longer connected to WiFi. If devices are plugged into a power source, their display will go black after a while but they will NOT go into deep sleep and WILL remain connected to WiFi, thereby ensuring new content will download and install according to the configured schedule.


​

Did this answer your question?