It depends on which Release Channel is shared with the organization:
Latest Release Channel
If you've shared a Release Channel that targets Latest, then it will automatically update its Target Version to the latest version* of the app.
Any organization with a Latest Release Channel will automatically update to a newly uploaded version if it's of a higher versionCode.
Any other Release Channel
Any other Release Channel that's not Latest will not be affected until you make a change to the specified Target Version